Image  Ok, What I want you all to do, is get rid of all the things you think you know about autism. Forget what Autism Speaks is saying. Forget what most media says. I want you to get rid of all your ideas of what you think about autistic people. 

Alright, now that we have that taken care of. I want you to go and actually get to know an autistic individual, or, better yet, get to know a few autistic individuals. Then you will see, you will see what autism REALLY is. You will see that each individual is their own person. YES, that’s right! We are people just like you, with emotions, and thoughts, and yes, we are much like you…WE ARE HUMAN! Did you get that? Autistic people are HUMAN BEINGS. Autistic people are capable of all the things you are. We are different, but isn’t everyone? Being like everyone else is overrated, I think. And I think that we all need to start realizing this. We share this planet together. I think it’s time that we accept each other for the beauty of each and everyone of us, autistic and non-autistic…disabled or abled.

So, next time you hear the “autism is a tragedy that needs curing”, maybe, you’ll say to that, “that’s bull, because I know so and so, and they are not a tragedy, and they are wonderful just as they are”…I think it’s time, we break the stereotypes, and  start seeing the individual. Just because you’ve met one autistic person doesn’t mean you’ve met them all.

Thank you. And I hope you have a wonderful day 🙂

Comments
  1. willitbeok says:

    I don’t have autism but I have OCD and Tourette’s and I think your message is great for anyone who is “different.” It’s true there are downsides to having a developmental or mental disorder but there are also benefits, and there is so much I’ve learned from being different that while it’s been difficult, it’s made me who I am, and I like that. We shouldn’t let our disorders define us, either — we are so much more than that, and everyone’s “disorder” manifests itself differently.

    • Thanks, Willitbeok (I like that name btw), I think what makes us different is a blessing, yes, with difficulties, but that’s is how we become stronger as people. Life would definitely be boring if we were all the same.

      • willitbeok says:

        Thanks. “Will it be OK?” is a bit of an inside joke between my family and I, because I used to constantly ask that when I was a kid. 😉

        I agree that life would be boring if we were all the same.

  2. […] Autistic People Are Worth Getting to know. […]

  3. Cindi says:

    My grandson is autistic and I think he’s a wonderful creative person, he’s 18 now and I remember when he was 2 and diagnosed with autism, I told my daughter that there was no way he was autistic because of the things I thought I knew about it. For one thing I believed he couldn’t be because I thought autistic children weren’t loving and didn’t want to be touched, that is so not true with some children but maybe is with others, all children are different. My grandson is very loving and even at his age now, still loves to be held and touched. I just think he’s a great kid and I hope he’s allowed to go far in life, as far as I’m concerned I think he is very normal, more than a lot of other people I meet.

Leave a Reply

